Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.
  • Citizen Action Center
  • Follow us on Social Media
  • Freedom of Information
  • Online Payments
  • Online Forms
  • Subscribe to News
  • Send Us Comments
  • Contacts Directory
  • Projects & Initiatives
  • Public Documents
  • Community Links
  • Village Code
April 1, 2002 Organizational Meeting of the Board of Trustees

The Annual Organizational Meeting of the Croton on Hudson Board of Trustees was held on Monday, April 1, 2002 at the Municipal Building, Van Wyck Street, Croton on Hudson, New York.

The following were present:
        Mayor Elliott
        Trustees: Grant, McCarthy, Wiegman, Trustee-elect Schmidt
        Village Attorney Waldman
        Village Manager Herbek
Village Treasurer Reardon

Mayor Elliott called the meeting to order at 8:00 P.M.  The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all.

Village Manager Herbek filed the oath of office of newly elected members of the Board of Trustees: Trustee McCarthy and Trustee Schmidt.

Trustee Grant made a motion to approve the following designations.  Trustee Wiegman seconded the motion.  Unanimous approval.

Setting of Board of Trustee meeting place, time and dates

The following meeting dates for the Board of Trustees for 2002/03 are hereby adopted:

April 1         Organizational and regular meeting
April 8         Public Hearing on Budget
April 22                Regular meeting
April 29                Special meeting to adopt budget

May 6                   Regular meeting
May 20          Regular meeting

June 10         Regular meeting
June 24         Regular meeting

July 8                  Regular meeting
July 22         Regular meeting

August 5                Regular meeting
August 19               Regular meeting

Sept. 9         Regular meeting
Sept. 23                Regular meeting

Oct. 7                  Regular meeting
Oct. 21         Regular meeting

Nov. 4          Regular meeting
Nov. 18         Regular meeting

Dec. 2          Regular meeting
Dec. 16         Regular meeting

Jan. 6                  Regular meeting
Jan. 21 (Tues.) Regular meeting

Feb. 3          Regular meeting
Feb. 18 (Tues.) Regular meeting and Grievance Day

March 3         Regular meeting
March 17                Regular meeting 

Designation of the Croton Gazette and Gannett papers as official newspapers.

Trustee Grant made a motion to approve the following designations.  Trustee Wiegman seconded the motion.  Unanimous approval.

Name of the following as Official Depositories: Bank of New York, Chase Bank, First Union, Hudson Valley, CLASS.

Trustee Grant made a motion to approve the following designations.  Trustee Wiegman seconded the motion.  Unanimous approval

Setting of employee bonds levels: Treasurer/Court Clerk, $500,000; Dep. Treasurer/Computer Operator/Account Clerks, $200,000; Other positions, $100,000.

Mayor Elliott made the following appointments:
        Deputy Mayor:                           G. Grant
        Acting Village Justice:                 P. Hoffman
        Historian       ;                       J. Finnerty
        Assessor:                               J. Sperber
        Marriage Officer:                       J. Gochman
        Planning Board Chair:           A. Gallelli
        Planning Board:                 A. Zelman
        ZBA Chairman:                   D. Sapir
        ZBA     T. Szobaszlai
        Conservation Advisory Council:  J. Goplerud, G. Kullberg, J. Johnson            
Water Control Commission:               S. Greenbaum
Visual Environment Board:               V. Leis

Liaisons-Trustee Assignments:   
        Public Safety:                  Grant, Schmidt, Elliott
        Recreation Adv.:                        Schmidt
        Conservation:   McCarthy
        Finance:                                Schmidt, McCarthy, Grant, Wiegman
        Planning:                               Grant
        ZBA:                                    McCarthy
        Visual Env.:                            Wiegman
        Water Control:                  Wiegman
        Library:                                Schmidt
        Cable:                                  McCarthy
        Chamber of Com/Business Dev.:   Grant, Schmidt
        Schools:                                Wiegman
        Town:                                   Grant
        County:                         Wiegman
        Greenway:                               Wiegman
        Arboretum:                              Schmidt
        Parking Lot:                            Schmidt
        Northern Tier                           Grant
        Waterfront Advisory Comm        Wiegman
        Comprehensive Plan Comm Grant
        Historic Preservation           Schmidt

Respectfully submitted,

Phyllis A. Bradbury, Secretary

Richard F. Herbek,
Village Clerk