Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.
  • Citizen Action Center
  • Follow us on Social Media
  • Freedom of Information
  • Online Payments
  • Online Forms
  • Subscribe to News
  • Send Us Comments
  • Contacts Directory
  • Projects & Initiatives
  • Public Documents
  • Community Links
  • Village Code
Board of Trustees Minutes April 8 2003 Organizational Meeting
The Annual Organizational Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Village of Croton-on-Hudson, NY was held on Tuesday, April 8, 2003 at the Municipal Building, Van Wyck Street, Croton-on-Hudson, NY 10520.

The following officials were present:

        Mayor Elliott                   Village Attorney Waldman
        Trustee Grant                   Trustee Wiegman
        Trustee Schmidt         Trustee McCarthy
        Manager Herbek          Treasurer Reardon


        Mayor Elliott called the meeting to order at 8:18 pm.  Everyone joined in the   Pledge of Allegiance.

2.      Filing of Oath of Office of newly elected members of the Board of Trustees.
Village Manager Herbek gave the oath of office to the Board members elected in the March 18, 2003 election.  Mayor Robert Elliott and Trustees Georgianna Grant and Leo Wiegman were duly sworn into office and signed the official book.

3.      Setting of  meeting place and times and dates.
     A motion to approve the following dates was made by Trustee Wiegman, seconded by Trustee Schmidt and approved unanimously.



All meetings to be held at the Municipal Building at 8 pm.

April 7                 Organizational Meeting and Regular Meeting 2003
April 21                Regular Meeting
May 5                   Regular Meeting
May 27          Regular Meeting (Tuesday)
June 9                  Regular Meeting
June 23         Regular Meeting
July 7                  Regular Meeting
July 21                 Regular Meeting
August 4                Regular Meeting
August 18               Regular Meeting
Sept. 2                 Regular Meeting
Sept. 15                Regular Meeting
October 7               Regular Meeting
October 20              Regular Meeting
November 3              Regular Meeting
November 17             Regular Meeting
December 1              Regular Meeting
December 15             Regular Meeting


January 5               Regular Meeting
January 20 (Tues.)      Regular Meeting
Feb 2                   Regular Meeting
Feb 17(Tues.)           Regular Meeting  (Grievance Day)
March 1         Regular Meeting
March   15              Regular Meeting

4.      Designation of Official Newspapers:
     The Gazette and the Gannett were names as official newspapers on a motion by      Trustee Wiegman and seconded by Trustee Schmidt; approved unanimously.

5.   Naming of Official Depositories.
           The Bank of New York, Chase Bank, First Union, Hudson Valley, CLASS and     HUBCO were named as depositories on a motion by Trustee Grant and seconded      by Trustee Schmidt; approved unanimously.

6.       Setting of employee bond levels:
        Treasurer/Court Clerk - $500,000        
     Deputy Treasurer/Computer Operator/Account Clerks - $200,000.
     Other positions - $100,000.

       Deputy Mayor:                   Grant

     Village Clerk:                            R. Herbek
     Village Treasurer/Dep. Village Clerk:     R. Reardon

     Deputy Village Clerk:                     M. Keesler

     Deputy Village Treasurer:         L. Pennington

     Acting Village Justice:           Paul Hoffman

     Historian:                                Joyce Finnerty

     Assessor:                         Joe Sperber

        Marriage Officers:                      John Gochman

     Registrar of Vital Statistics:            E. Soderlund

     Planning Bd. Chairman:            Ann Gallelli

     Planning Board: (5 yr)            Ann Gallelli

     ZBA Chairman:                     Don Sapir

     ZBA: (5 yr)                               Ruth Waitkins

     Conservation Adv. Council: (2 year)
                                                Ken Sargeant
                                                Bruce Laemmel
                                                Mark Magel
                                                Joe Biber

    Recreation Advisory Board (3 year)
                                                Lisa Vlad
                                                Gary Pettit
                                                Joseph Streany

     Water Control Commission: (5 yr)  _____________________   

     Historic Preservation Committee:  Lyn Roessler
                                                Carl Oeschner

On a motion by Trustee Grant, seconded by Trustee Wiegman, the following assignments were unanimously approved:

     Liaisons – Trustee Assignments:
                Public Safety:                  Grant, Schmidt, Elliott
                Rec. Advisory:          Schmidt
                Conservation Advisory:  McCarthy
                Finance:                        Schmidt, Grant, Wiegman
                Planning:                       Grant
                ZBA:                            McCarthy
                Visual Envir.:                  Wiegman
                Water Control Comm.:    Wiegman
                Library:                        Schmidt
                Cable:                          McCarthy
                Chamber of Commerce/Bus. Dev.: Grant, Schmidt
                Schools:                        Wiegman
                Town:                           Grant
                County:                 Wiegman
                Greenway:                       Wiegman
                Arboretum:                      Schmidt
                Parking Lot:                    Schmidt
                Northern Tier:                  Grant
                Waterfront Adv. Comm.:  Wiegman
                Historic  Preserv. Comm.:       Schmidt

Trustee Wiegman made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Trustee Schmidt, and by unanimous vote, the meeting was adjourned at 10:05 pm.

Respectfully submitted
Ann H. Gallelli, Secretary

Village Clerk